- Introduction
- Books / E-Books
- Magazines / E-Journals
- Databases
- Patents / Standards
- Open Access Resources
- E-Resources Usage Policy
Computer Science is the systematic study of the theoretical foundations of information and computation and of practical techniques for their implementation and application in computer systems. Computer scientists invent algorithmic processes that create, describe, and transform information and formulate suitable abstractions to model complex systems. The study is devoted to theoretical foundations of computation and practical techniques for their implementation in computer systems.
Click on the link to read more - Computer Science & Engineering.
This guide is designed to help you to locate and access below key resources available in this subject area on a single platform:
- Books and E-Books
- Magazines and E-Journals
- Subscribed Databases
- Open Access Resources
- Technology Enabled Learning Resources
- Videos, Lessons
- Library Catalog (OPAC / WEBOPAC)
- E-resources Usage Policy
If you want to explore on the above resources then click on each Tab.
BPCL team welcomes all your suggestions, feedback and active participation to improve this library guide (LibGuide) using Feedback & Suggestion or mail to HOD, BPCL at library@nitrkl.ac.in.
Search and Locate Print Books
Library catalog can be searched within or from outside the library. Inside the library OPAC stations and Information KIOSK are available to search books. From outside the library, users can search library catalog using this link: Library Catalog.
How to Search Catalog? Click here.
Search E-Books
To get access to all subscribed e-books by Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL).
Search e-books using the text box at the top of this page, or click "Advanced Search" for additional search options using E-Books Catalog.
Biju Patnaik Central Library uses Dewey Decimal Classification system and simple author code to classify books.
A class number is a simple number used to identify & locate books in the library.
Example: 005.1 for Software Engineering.
An author code are simple letters used to identify titles written by a different author, like first three letter of the title of author / first letter of the title of the book.
Example: a book titled Software Engineering (A Life Cycle Approach) written by Pratap K.J. Mohapatra and author code is: MOH/S.
The complete Call no. would be : 005.1 --- Class No.
MOH/S --- Author Code / First letter of the Book title
76587 --- Accession No.
Below are select list of topics and their respective call nos. of books related to Biotechnology and Medical Engineering.
Call No. Subject Groups
004 : Data Processing/ Computer Science/Cloud Computing
004.67 : Wireless Communication
005 : Computer Programming
005.7 : Database Management
006 : Distributed System
006.3 : Artificial Intelligence
006.7 : Multimedia Communication
Latest books and periodicals added to the Central Library.
Check all New Books and Periodicals in the library collection from here!
Check Table of Content of Indian Print Journals/Magazines from here!
Locate Print Journals
The Latest issue of print journals are available in the Central Library (Periodical Display Area - Ground Floor).
Click on the Table of Content of these periodicals.
How to Search Journals and Articles?
To get access to all subscribed e-journals by Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL). Follow the procedure: Open Library Website > Electronic Resources > Choose either Abstract Database / Full-text Database > Click on the required database and use simple/advanced search option to search articles.
To explore full list of e-resources Click here
Access the latest Table of Contents in your subject area here:
Applied Artificial Intelligence
Automatic Control and Computer Sciences
Automated Software Engineering
Empirical Software Engineering
Library subscribes following print journals on this subject. These are displayed in the New Arrivals display area (at Ground Floor).
No. Title Publisher-
Journal of Scientific and Industrial Research NISCAIR, New Delhi
-
Journal of the Indian Institute of Science Indian Institute of Science
-
Manufacturing Technology Today CMTI, Bengaluru
-
Nano Digest Nano Digest
-
Journal of The Institution of Engineers (India): Series B Institution of Engineers (India)
ACM digital library is a research, discovery and networking platform containing Full-Text Collection, hosted full-text publications, Guide to Computing Literature, interlinked set of connections among authors, works, institutions, and specialized communities.
Bentham Science
Bentham Science has been publishing many high impact factor publications since 1992. With over 110 scientific journals and several hundred E books we are continuously serving the information needs of the STM field in general and the Pharmaceutical and Biomedical research communities in particular.
Emerald
Manages a portfolio of nearly 300 journals, more than 2,500 books and over 1,500 teaching cases.
IEEE Xplore
Provides web access to more than four-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Software Engineering Body of Knowledge
The Guide to the Software Engineering Body of Knowledge (SWEBOK Guide) describes generally accepted knowledge about software engineering. Its 15 knowledge areas (KAs) summarize basic concepts and include a reference list pointing to more detailed information.
Sage
Sage includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
Elsevier combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality which covers 24 subject collections across disciplines such as biochemistry, genetics and molecular biology, chemistry, clinical medicine, engineering and veterinary medicine.
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
SIAM exists to ensure the strongest interactions between mathematics and other scientific and technological communities through membership activities, publication of journals and books, and conferences.
Springer Link
Provides researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
Taylor and Francis (T&F)
Publishes more than 2,500 journals, and approximately 6,500 new books each year, with a backlist of over 130,000 titles available in print and digital formats which covers humanities, social sciences, behavioural sciences, law and education and the Taylor & Francis, CRC Press and Garland Science imprints for its publishing in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
Choose your e-resource from the list
An online database is a database accessible from a local network or the Internet. Online databases are hosted on websites, made available as software as a service product accessible via a web browser. They may be free or require payment, such as by a monthly subscription. Some have enhanced features such as collaborative editing and email notification. (Wikipedia)
The Online database is basically to give access to particular journal title you are seeking. Searching the table of content, bibliographic details and abstracts are possible using these databases. Further accessing of full-text of journal articles via campus computers using these subscribed databases. Click here to explore more on Electronic Resources.
Engineering Village
EI is a Web-based information service that offers a broad range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields.
It covers research in mathematics and mathematically related research in statistics, computer science, physics, operations research, engineering, biology, and other disciplines, and indexes 1800 serials and journals.
SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science and more. SciFinder Registration Procedure.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process. You can spend less time mastering databases and more time on research. It has 33 million abstracts as of now.
The Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
NPTEL video courses accessible to NIT Rourkela with in campus.
Video lecturers developed by A N Khosla Centre for Technology Enabled Learning (ANKCTEL), NIT Rourkela.
Click on the Video Lecturer to access.
A patent is an exclusive right granted for an invention. In other words, a patent is an exclusive right to a product or a process that generally provides a new way of doing something, or offers a new technical solution to a problem. To get a patent, technical information about the invention must be disclosed to the public in a patent application.
(WIPO).
NIT Rourkela is having access to following patent resources.
Engineering Village 2
Engineering Village, the essential engineering research database, provides a searchable index of the most comprehensive engineering literature and patent information available.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need.
Web of Science is an online subscription-based scientific citation indexing service maintained by Thomson Reuters that provides a comprehensive citation search. Patent information can be searched using this product. Follow the procedure to search patent; Select All Databases -> Search your related term -> Select Document Type "Patent" from Refine Result -> Click on Analyze Results -> Select Analyze -> View Records.
Standards are officially approved benchmarks aimed to ensure that goods and services meet the minimum set limit. They cover ranges like; Design, Performance, Quality, and Safety.
The Library has access to BIS (Indian Standards) and also subscriptions to the American Society for Testing and Materials.
American Society for Testing and Materials.
ASTM International is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of voluntary consensus standards. Today, over 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.
Bureau of Indian Standards (Indian Standards).
Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) is the National Standards body of India which has been successfully promoting and nurturing standards in the country since 1947. With over 500 qualified technical and scientific personnel and more than 25,000 experts voluntarily associated with standardization activities, BIS has formulated around 19,000 standards in various technological and industrial areas
Bookboon.com
Bookboon.com was established in Denmark in 1988, under the name Ventus, and has always focused on publishing educational material for students and business professionals.
College Open Text Books
The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks.
E-Books Directory is a daily growing list of freely downloadable electronic books, documents and lecture notes found all over the internet. This site has 9563 free e-books in 669 categories.
Free eBooks
Discover all-new, rising authors. Independent writers offer both entertaining fiction/romance for your enjoyment and non-fiction to help you find info from self-help to biz growth.
FreeTechBooks
Database of Free / Open Access Online Computer Science Books, Textbooks, and Lecture Notes
It contains links to thousands of free online technical books. Which Include core computer science, networking, programming languages, Systems Programming books, Linux books and many more. You are welcome to follow the following links for the free books tour.
Bentham Open
Bentham Open publishes many peer-reviewed open access journals. These free-to-view online journals cover all major disciplines of science, technology, medicine and social sciences.
Frontiers
Frontiers is a community-rooted, open-access academic publisher. Frontiers is a community-rooted, open-access academic publisher.
Hindawi Publishing Corporation
Hindawi is a rapidly growing academic publisher with 414 peer-reviewed, Open Access journals covering a broad range of academic disciplines.
OMICS and its subsidiaries including iMedPub LTD and Conference Series LLC LTD Organizes 3000+ Conferences across USA, Europe & Asia with support from 1000 more scientific societies and Publishes 700+ Open Access Journals which contains over 50000 eminent personalities, reputed scientists as editorial board members.
Open Access E-Journal Search Portal
OAJSE service covers free, full text, quality controlled journals. We aim to cover journals in all subjects that are published in English language. There are now 4,500+ journals in the directory.
Science Publications
Science Publications is a commercial STM (Science, Technology, and Medicine) publisher of peer-reviewed, open access academic journals.
Scientific Research Publishing
It is an academic publisher of open access journals. It also publishes academic books and conference proceedings. SCIRP currently has more than 200 open access journals in the areas of science, technology, and medicine.
Usage Policy
-
Electronic resources such as e-journals, e-databases, e-books made available by the Central Library, NIT Rourkela are for academic use.
-
These resources can be searched, browsed and material may be downloaded and printed as single copies of articles as is done in the case of printed library material. Downloading or printing of a complete book or an entire issue or a volume of one or more journals (called systematic downloading) is strictly prohibited.
-
Use of robots, spiders or intelligent agents to access, search and systematically download from these resources is also prohibited.
-
Please be aware that systematic downloading will cause the publisher to block to the entire community of users @ NIT Rourkela from accessing these resources.
The INDEST-AICTE Consortium subscribes to thousands of electronic journals and bibliographic databases for use by authorized users in member institutions. The terms and conditions for using these resources are spelled out in electronic resource license agreements with each publisher. It is the responsibility of individual users to ensure that the use of electronic resources does not breach the terms and conditions specified in the license agreements. Licenses vary from publisher to publisher; however, the general principles are as follows:
Actions that are permitted
-
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving a copy of search results.
-
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving individual articles.
-
Using these e-resources for scholarly, educational or scientific research, teaching, private study and clinical purpose.
-
Sending a copy of an article to another authorized user (i.e. current faculty, students or staff).
-
Posting the URL to the publisher's version of the article on a class website (publisher links will allow only authorized users access)
Actions that are not Permitted
-
Use of robots or intelligent agents to do systematic, bulk or automatic downloading is not permitted.
-
Systematic downloading or printing of entire journal issues or volumes, or large portions of other e-resources is not permitted.
-
Using e-resources for commercial gain is not permitted (i.e. reselling, redistributing or republishing licensed content).
-
Transmitting, disseminating or otherwise making online content available to unauthorized users (i.e. sending to mailing lists or electronic bulletin boards) is not permitted.
-
Posting the publisher's version or PDF of an article to an open class website is not permitted (instead, post the URL to the article which will allow only authorized users access).
