Research Support Tools

Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL) has started a new initiative called - Research / Project Support Service (RPS) for strengthening the research and project activities by providing the demo and attending user queries related to various research support tools like; Use of Electronic Resources, Grammar and Spelling Check (Grammarly), Reference Style Guide (Mendeley), Author Identification/ORCID, Citation Analysis (Scopus) and Check Plagiarism (Turnitin), etc.

To provide these value-added services to NITR community during both weekdays and weekends, BPCL is accommodated its library staff at 2nd floor to attend the Reference queries and also to support research and project related activities. The designated library staff will help you in attending your queries and other user education and other related tools. Find more about this service click on Research Support Tools or else contact at Digital Resource Center or Research / Project Support Service Desk at BPCL.
 

Wait and check before submitting and printing your academic research paper, article and any other document. It is vital to check and proofread your text carefully. Finally, a well-written paper can communicate the message properly to the ready rather a poorly written one.

Check your writings through grammar and spelling checker to correct the mistakes. Library has access to Grammarly software.

Grammarly

Grammarly is an online grammar and spelling checker that improves communication by helping users find and correct writing mistakes. You can check plagiarism of your writing using Grammarly.

Find answer to all your writing confusions here !

You can also try these online grammar checker from anywhere.

After the Deadline

Ginger Grammar Checker

Grammarcheck.me

Language Tool

Online Correction

Paper Rater

Spellchecker.net

• Admin Guide
• Instructor Guide
• Student Guide

• Creating a Turnitin Account
• Joining a Turnitin Account
• Creating a Class in Turnitin
• Adding Students to Turnitin
• Creating a Turnitin Assignment
• Submitting a Paper in Turnitin
• Accessing the Assignment Inbox
• Viewing an Originality Check Report
• Using Grade Mark Online Grading
• Creating a Peer Mark Assignment
• How to use the Turnitin iPad app
• How to Interpret Turnitin Reports
• Using the Quick Mark Manager

Understanding plagiarism is the best way to avoid it. Follow the below steps while writing papers and articles.

• Step1: Understand what plagiarism is?

• Step2: Be familiar with the area that you are talking about.

• Step3: Restate the subject to yourself a couple of times.

• Step4: Reference your quotes and sources.

• Step5: When in doubt, give credit.

• Step6: Understand some basics about copyright.

• Step7: Understand what doesn't need to be cited.

Click to read detail about the steps.

Read more ways to avoid plagiarism.

• 5 Most Effective Methods for Avoiding Plagiarism

• Avoid Plagiarism

On campus based Plagiarism Detection Tools

• Grammarly (both for grammatical mistakes and detect plagiarism)
• Tutnitin

• URKUND

For more help on plagiarism and its tools contact Research Support Service at Library.

Free Plagiarism Detection Tools

• DupliChecker

• CopyLeaks

• PaperRater

• Plagiarisma

• PlagiarismChecker

• Plagium

• PlagScan

• PlagTracker

• Quetext

• Viper

There are a various options available for creating a unique identity.

 

Author Identification gives you a unique identification number to grouping the publications of a scholar and researcher. It recognizes your name with your work throughout the career, including your articles, data, and bibliographic information. This can be helpful in many ways:

• Helps you to distinguish yourself as a researcher.
• Helps to showcase your research.
• Helps other (research funding agencies, researchers, etc.) to find your research output.

There are a variety of options for creating a unique identity, with ResearcherID, ORCID and Scopus Author Identifier are popular ones. Read Author Identification Resources to know more.

ResearcherID is your place to manage and share your professional information. Solve author identity issues while simultaneously adding dynamic citation metrics and collaboration networks to your personal profile.

For more details, please read the Researcher ID page.
 

Electronic Resources / E-Resources are reading materials in digital format, which can be accessed electronically. E-Resources like electronic journals (e-journals), electronic books (e-books), online databases in various format, electronic documents (in pdf, doc, ppt, xls, etc.) websites and much more.

MathSciNet

It covers research in mathematics and mathematically related research in statistics, computer science, physics, operations research, engineering, biology, and other disciplines, and indexes 1800 serials and journals. 

SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science and more.  SciFinder Registration Procedure.

Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process. You can spend less time mastering databases and more time on research. It has 33 million abstracts as of now.

Prowess

Prowess is a database of the financial performance of Indian companies. Annual Reports of individual companies is the principal source of this product. For listed companies, the database includes data sourced from the stock exchanges. Prowess contains time-series data from 1989-90. It is updated continuously. To access: please contact to B. P. Central Library or Computer Center (4675) for installation. 

Web of Science

The Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

J-Gate

J-Gate Custom Content for Consortium (JCCC) is a virtual library of journal literature created as a customized e-journals access gateway and database solution. It acts as a one point access to 7900+ journals subscribed currently under UGC INFONET Digital library consortium as well as university libraries designated as Inter Library Loan (ILL) Centers besides index to open access journals.

American Chemical Society

The American Chemical Society (ACS) is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation. Click here to see the List of Journals.

ACM Digital Library
ACM provides the computing related premier Digital Library and serves its members and the computing profession with leading-edge publications, conferences, and career resources. Click here to see the List of Journals.

American Institute of Physics
The American Institute of Physics (AIP) is a society created for the purpose of promoting the advancement and diffusion of the knowledge of physics and its application to human welfare. It is one of the world's largest publishers of physics journals. Click here to see the List of Journals.

American Nuclear Society
The American Nuclear Society is a not-for-profit international, scientific and educational organization. It has established by a group of individuals who recognized the need to unify the professional activities within the diverse fields of nuclear science and technology.  NITR subscribed e-journals, standard news and transaction. Click here to see the List of Journals.

American Physical Society
The American Physical Society (APS) is a non-profit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities. Click here to see the List of Journals.

American Society of Civil Engineers
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) represents more than 1,45,000 members of the civil engineering profession worldwide and is Americas oldest national engineering society. It publishes journals, periodicals, and transactions that cover a comprehensive range of the civil engineering profession. Click here to see the List of Journals.

American Society of Mechanical Engineering
The American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME) provides peer-reviewed papers that serve as a permanent technical record of mechanical engineering and related research and development. The online versions of the ASME Journals are of the ASME Digital Library. Click here to see the List of Journals.

American Society for Testing and Materials
ASTM International (ASTM), American Society for Testing and Materials, is one of the largest voluntary standards development organizations in the world, a trusted source for technical standards for materials, products, systems, and services. It covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health, and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. Through this DL instant access to 12,000+ ASTM Standards, 1,400+ Books,15,000+ Journal Articles,47,000+ Total Papers, Chapters, and Articles are available. Click here to see the List of Journals.

DE Gruyter
DE Gruyter (Formerly Berkeley Electronic Press (BEP) publishes journals with fast, high-quality peer review. Click here to see the List of Journals.

Economic and Political Weekly
This is being published by the Sameeksha Trust, a registered charitable trust, registered under the Bombay Public Trusts Act, 1950. The journal is popularly known, occupies a special place in the intellectual history of independent India for more than five decades. EPW is unique in that every week it publishes the analysis of contemporary affairs side by side with academic papers in the social sciences (like economics, politics, sociology, culture, the environment and numerous other disciplines).

Emerald
Emerald Group Publishing has become the world's leading scholarly publisher of journals and books in business and management with a strong and growing presence in disciplines including LIS, social sciences, engineering, linguistics, and audiology. Click here to see the List of Journals.

Harvard Business Review (HBR)
Harvard Business Review (HBR) is monthly magazine covers mainly management and its impact in a changing world. Contact Library for credentials.

IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore provides Web access to more than 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Click here to see the List of Journals.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital archive for the scholarship. The majority of content in the archive is journal literature, though the inclusion of other materials such as conference proceedings, transactions, pamphlets, monographs, manuscripts, and other material is growing. JSTOR is not a publisher and does not hold the copyright of any content available. Currently, there are 2500+ titles, including previous titles, as well as other content available. Click here to see the List of Journals.

Nature
With weekly periodicity, Nature is an international journal publishing original, groundbreaking research spanning all of the scientific disciplines, like Articles, Letters to Nature and Brief Communications. Each issue also includes the extensive secondary comment, including Reviews, News, New Features, Essays, News and Views, Book Reviews, Correspondence, Commentary, and Opinion. Library has access from 1997 to current Issues.

Oxford Journals
Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience. We achieve this by working closely with our society partners, authors, and subscribers to provide them with publishing services that support their research needs. Click here to see the List of Journals.

Royal Society of Chemistry
Royal Society of Chemistry is a leading scientific publisher of biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics.  The NITR has access to RSC Gold collection. Click here to see the List of Journals.

SAGE Journals
SAGE Journals Online is the delivery platform that provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals of award-winning, discipline-specific research databases. The NITR has access to and other custom collection. Click here to see the List of Journals.

Science Direct
Science Direct provides desktop access to the full text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier Science. NITR has access to 40 e-only subscribed journals with five current subject collections such as (Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science., Engineering and Material Science) with backfile access to Chemical Engineering, Material Science, and Energy. Click here to see the List of Journals.
 

SIAM Journals
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) fosters the development of applied mathematical and computational methodologies needed in these various application areas. Applied mathematics in partnership with computational science is essential in solving many real-world problems. SIAM publishes 16 peer-reviewed research journals. Click here to see the List of Journals.
 
Science Online
Science is the world leading journal on original scientific research, global news, and commentary. The Science journals articles consistently rank among the world's most cited research. Library has access from 1997 to current Issues.

Springer Link
Springer Link is one of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. Springer Link is a powerful central access point for researchers and scientists. NITR has access to e-journals, eBooks, eBook Series. Click here to see the List of Journals.
 
Taylor & Francis
Taylor & Francis, founded in the City of London in 1798, is the oldest commercial journals publisher in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. The NITR has access to Engineering Computing & Technology Journal Package. Click here to see the List of Journals.

World e-Book Library
The World Public Library Association was founded in 1996, is a global coordinated effort to preserve and disseminate historical books, classic works of literature, serials, bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other heritage works in a number of languages and countries around the world. The BPCL has access upto September 1, 2017.
 
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Inter Science is a leading international resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors. The NITR subscribes the 23 Core and Customized Journals of various disciplines of user interest. Click here to see the List of Journals.

Library has the access to the following e-book collections.

• Elsevier [Science Direct] e-books.
• Springer Link e-books.

• Aerospace Engineering
• Basic Courses (Sem 1 and 2)
• Biotechnology
• Chemical Engineering
• Chemistry and Biochemistry
• Civil Engineering
• Computer Science and Engineering
• Electrical Engineering
• Electronics & Communication Engineering
• Engineering Design
• Environmental Science
• Humanities and Social Sciences
• Management
• Mathematics
• Mechanical Engineering
• Metallurgy and Material Science
• Mining Engineering
• Nanotechnology
• Ocean Engineering
• Physics
• Textile Engineering

Video lecturers developed by A N Khosla Centre for Technology Enabled Learning (ANKCTEL), NIT Rourkela.

Click on the Video Lecturer to access.

• J-Gate Tips and Tutorials
• MathSciNet Tutorials
• SciFinder Training
• Scopus Guides and Tutorials
• Scopus Support
• WoS Training
• WoS - Master Journals List

Citation analysis is the process of counting the number of times an article is cited by other works to measure the impact of the publication or author.

Benefits of using Citation Analysis

• It provides the impact level of a particular article.
• It shows how may times other authors have used and cited a particular work.
• It helps to find out more works on the topic.
• It shows the impact level of a particular author by measuring the number of times his/her work has been cited by others.

A Guide to Writing the Dissertation Literature Review

Writing a faulty literature review is one of many ways to derail a dissertation. Read the article Here.

A Short Guide for Reviewing the Literature

A Literature Review

• A complete evaluation of the major research about the topic being studied.
• Studies and reviews literatures available on a particular topic.
• Act as a blueprint on a piece of research, such as a thesis.
• Identify related areas of research to be explored.

Purposes

• Provides thorough understanding of earlier studies and presents important works.
• Helps to concentration on researcher’s own topic.
• Helps to identify a theoretical framework related to research questions or problems.
• Helps to find pros & cons of previous studies and failed methodologies to avoid commit same mistakes.
• Helps the researcher to avoid duplication of works. 

Make sure the quality, possibility and suitable of the literature for review.

Try to collect a good range of available literatures related to your area of study. Follow the below tips:

Recording of information can be done in many ways like:

Keep in mind the followings while taking notes:

After you have searched your literature, read, analyzed and evaluated them. The very next essential step is to write it. It is very important to take utmost care while writing your literature review.

Important tips for writing literature review:

1. Write your literature review by keeping your audience in mind. Your writing should be as per the level of understanding of targeted readers. Use only related terms to your research.
2. Avoid all jargon and technical terms, if you are writing for the ordinary reader. Try to write in simple English.
3. Keep your paragraphs short and simple.
4. Make your writing readable by using subheadings. Subheading break up your writing into more readable parts.
5. Avoid plagiarism by understanding the guidelines and acknowledge the source of ideas and quotations of other researchers.

Below are some common errors must be avoided:

1. Don’t forget to cite essential relevant works.
2. Always try to maintain a clear and logical flow.
3. Try to avoid weak organization.
4. Don’t use poor language and grammar.

Abstract Databases

1. Engineering Village
2. MathSciNet
3. SciFinder Scholar Click here for SciFinder Registration Procedure.
4. Scopus
5. Prowess
6. Web of Science

Full-text Databases

1. American Chemical Society
2. ACM Digital Library
3. American Institute of Physics
4. American Nuclear Society
5. American Physical Society
6. American Society of Civil Engineers
7. American Society of Mechanical Engineering
8. American Society for Testing and Materials
9. DE Gruyter
10. Economic and Political Weekly
11. Emerald
12. Harvard Business Review (HBR)
13. IEEE Xplore
14. JSTOR
15. Nature
16. Oxford Journals
17. Royal Society of Chemistry
18. SAGE Journals
19. Science Direct
20. SIAM Journals 
21. Science Online
22. Springer Link
23. Taylor & Francis
24. World e-Book Library
25. Wiley Online Library

Free tools to search, analyze and choose the best journal for publishing your research output or articles.

Journal Guide

Journalysis

Master Journal List

Listed out some of the external sites which guide you to avoid predatory publishing.

• 8 Ways to Identify a Questionable Open Access Journal
• A beginner’s guide to avoiding ‘predatory’ journals
• A cursory look at some ‘predatory’ journals
• Avoid Predatory Publishers
• Finding Reputable Open Access Journals How to avoid predatory journals - a five point plan
• Helping researchers distinguish credible journals
• How to avoid predatory open access publishers (Ohio State University)
• How to target a journal that’s right for your research

Beware scholars and academic researchers that publishers exist without any reputation may harm a researcher's career . . . !
 

The term 'Predatory Publisher' coined by a library scientist at the University of Colo-rado, Denver, USA named Jeffrey Beall, can be described as publishers engaged in the scholarly publishing business who collects article processing charges and provide rapid publishing without a proper peer-review process.

An articles written by Tin & et. al. (2014) described this as Fake Publishers and Hijacked journals, are cyber criminals generating money by staling identities of legitimate journals and collecting the article processing charges on the papers that are submitted.

Wikipedia has listed out some of the complaints that are associated with predatory open-access publishing include:

• Accepting articles quickly with little or no peer review or quality control, including hoax and nonsensical papers.
• Notifying academics of article fees only after papers are accepted.
• Aggressively campaigning for academics to submit articles or serve on editorial boards.
• Listing academics as members of editorial boards without their permission, and not allowing academics to resign from editorial boards.
• Appointing fake academics to editorial boards.
• Mimicking the name or web site style of more established journals.
• Misleading claims about the publishing operation, such as a false location.
• Improper use of ISSNs.
• Fake or non-existent impact factors.

This is a list of questionable, scholarly open-access standalone publishers and journals. Scholars must go through the list and descriptions provided, and then decide for themselves whether they want to submit articles.

Predatory Journals and Publishers:

Beall’s List (Individual Journals)

Beall’s List (Publishers)
List of Hijacked Journals

Predatory Journals
Predatory Publishers
UGC Approved Journals

List of Journals with Central Article Processing Charges (APC) Payment

DOAJ

MPDL

• Nature's Open Access Checklist
• Think, Check and Submit
• Ways to know that a Journal is Fake
• UGC Approved List of Journals

Journal Recommender System

IEEE Publication Recommender
Springer Journal Suggester
Elsevier Journal Finder

Wiley Journal Finder Beta 
SJFinder - Recommended Journals 
Enago - OA Journal Finder 
BMC - Find the Right Journal 

Cofactor Journal Selector
Edanz Journal Selector

Other Guides for Journals Selection

Bernard Becker

Healey Library 

Publishing Help 

Wiley - Author Service

 

Look if you are writing your article / paper / dissertation / thesis, the following referencing software are very much helpful to compile references and will create bibliography list. For more information explore:

EndNote      EnNote Video Guides

Mendeley    Mendeley Video Guides

Publish or Perish    Tutorials

QIQQA        QIQQA Manual

RefME          RefME Guides

RefWorks    Refworks Video Guides

Zotero          Zotero Video Guides

A referencing/citation style is a set of rules guiding researchers how to acknowledge the thoughts, ideas and works of others in a particular way. Referencing / citation is an important part of successful article and paper writing.

Pattern of writing reference (APA Style):-

1. Farkas, Meredith G. (2007). Social software in libraries: building collaboration, communication, and community online. New Jersey: Information Today.
2. Villiers, M. R. R. de. (2010). Academic Use of a Group on Facebook: Initial Findings and Perceptions. Proceedings of Informing Science & IT Education Conference (InSITE).
3. Xia, Z. David (2009), Marketing library services through Facebook groups, Library Management, 30(6/7) pp. 469 – 478 Retrieved December 29, 2015, from http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/01435120910982159.

To read more about Referencing visit the Referencing page.