- Introduction
- Books / E-Books
- Magazines / E-Journals
- Databases
- Patents / Standards
- Open Access Resources
- E-Resources Usage Policy
Electronics Engineers Design, develop and test electronic systems, devices, and equipment. Examples of these systems include computer components, GPS systems, communication systems, antennas, satellite transponders, electronics guidance system for aircraft, electronic control for missiles, signal processing based biomedical instruments, entertainment electronics and home applications, VLSI and ULSI chips and many more. Several specializations within Electronics Engineering that include Automatic Controls, Digital Systems (Computer Systems), Electromagnetics, Electronics, Semiconductor Devices, Communication and Signal Processing.
Click on link to read more : Electronics and Communication Engineering
This guide is designed to help you to locate and access below key resources available in this subject area on a single platform:
- Books and E-Books
- Magazines and E-Journals
- Subscribed Databases
- Open Access Resources
- Technology Enabled Learning Resources
- Videos, Lessons
- Library Catalog (OPAC / WEBOPAC)
- E-resources Usage Policy
If you want to explore on the above resources then click on each tab.
BPCL team welcomes all your suggestions, feedback and active participation to improve this library guide (LibGuide) using Feedback / Suggestiont or mail to HOD, BPCL at library@nitrkl.ac.in.
Search and Locate Print Books
Library catalog can be searched within or from outside the library. Inside the library OPAC stations and Information KIOSK are available to search books. From outside the library, users can search library catalog using this link: Library Catalog.
How to Search Catalog? Click here.
Search E-Books
To get access to all subscribed e-books by Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL).
Search e-books using the text box at the top of this page, or click "Advanced Search" for additional search options using E-Books Catalog.
Biju Patnaik Central Library uses Dewey Decimal Classification system and simple author code to classify books.
A class number is a simple number used to identify & locate books in the library.
Example: 621.381 for Electronics.
An author code are simple letters used to identify titles written by a different author, like first three letter of the title of author / first letter of the title of the book.
Example: a book titled Electronics And Radio Engineering written by M. L. Gupta and author code is: GUP/E.
The complete call no would be : 621.381 --- Class No.
GUP/E --- Author Code/First letter of the Book title
16379 --- Accession No.
Below are select list of topics and their respective call nos. of books related to Electronics and Communication Engineering
Call No. Subject Groups
621.38 : Electronic Communication/Signal Processing
621.381 : Electronics
621.3815 : Components and Circuits
621.38152 : Semiconductor
621.382 : Digital Signal Processing
Latest books and periodicals added to the Central Library.
Check all New Books and Periodicals in the library collection from here!
Check Table of Content of Indian Print Journals/Magazines from here!
Locate Print Journals
Latest issue of print journals are available at the Central Library (Periodical Display Area - Ground Floor).
Click on the Table of Content of these periodicals.
How to Search Journals and Articles ?
To get access to all subscribed e-journals by Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL). Follow the procedure: Open Library Website > Electronic Resources > Choose either Abstract Database / Full-text Database > Click on the required database and use simple and advanced search to search articles.
To explore full list of e-resources Click here
Access the latest Table of Contents in your subject area here:
Active and Passive Electronic Components
International Journal of Electronics
Journal of Electronics (China)
Journal of Electronic Materials
Journal of Computational Electronics
Library subscribes following print journals on this subject. These are displayed in the New Arrivals display area (at Ground Floor).
No. Title Publisher- Bharatiya Vaigyanik Evam Audyogik Anusandhan Patrika NISCAIR, New Delhi
- BioTecNika Magazine BioTecnika Info Labs
- Indian Journal of Engineering and Materials Sciences NISCAIR, New Delhi
- International Journal of Electronic and Comm. Engg. Int. Res. Pub. House
- Journal of Instrument Society of India Instrument Society of India
- Journal of The Institution of Engineers: Series B The Institution of Engineers
Elsevier's Science Direct
Science Direct provides desktop access to the full text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier Science. NITR has access to 40 e-only subscribed journals with five current subject collections. To get specific Electronics and Communication engineering e-journals, please Click here
Emerald Group Publishing
Emerald Group Publishing has become the world's leading scholarly publisher of journals and books in business and management with a strong and growing presence in disciplines including LIS, social sciences, engineering, linguistics, and audiology. To get specific Electronics and Communication engineering e-journals, please Click here
IEEE Explore
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides Web access to more than 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. To get specific Electronics and Communication engineering e-journals please Click here
JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital archive for the scholarship. The majority of content in the archive is journal literature, though the inclusion of other materials such as conference proceedings, transactions, pamphlets, monographs, manuscripts, and other material is growing. JSTOR is not a publisher and does not hold the copyright of any content available. However, obtain licenses to preserve and make published content available digitally from the publisher. Currently, there are 2500+ titles, including previous titles, as well as other content available. New titles and other materials are being added regularly. To get specific Electronics and Communication engineering e-journals please Click here
Nature
With weekly periodicity, Nature is an international journal publishing original, groundbreaking research spanning all of the scientific disciplines like; Articles, Letters to Nature and Brief Communications. Click here.
Science Online
Science is the world leading journal on original scientific research, global news, and commentary. The Science journals articles consistently rank among the world's most cited research. NITR has access online to the following content. Click here
Springer Link
Springer Link is one of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. Springer Link is a powerful central access point for researchers and scientists. NITR has access to e-journals, eBooks, eBook Series. To get specific Electronics and Communication engineering e-journals please Click here
Choose your e-resource from the list
An online database is a database accessible from a local network or the Internet. Online databases are hosted on websites, made available as software as a service product accessible via a web browser. They may be free or require payment, such as by a monthly subscription. Some have enhanced features such as collaborative editing and email notification. (Wikipedia)
Online database is basically to give access to particular journal title you are seeking. Searching of the table of content, bibliographic details and abstracts are possible using these databases. Further accessing of full-text of journal articles via campus computers using these subscribed databases. Click here to explore more on Electronic Resources.
Engineering Village
EI is a Web-based information service that offers a wide range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields.
It covers research in mathematics and mathematically related research in statistics, computer science, physics, operations research, engineering, biology, and other disciplines, and indexes 1800 serials and journals.
SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science and more. SciFinder Registration Procedure.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process. You can spend less time mastering databases and more time on research. It has 33 million abstracts as of now.
The Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
NPTEL video courses accessible to NIT Rourkela with in campus.
Electronics & Communication Engineering
Video lecturers developed by A N Khosla Centre for Technology Enabled Learning (ANKCTEL), NIT Rourkela.Click on the Video Lecturer to access.
A patent is an exclusive right granted for an invention. In other words, a patent is an exclusive right to a product or a process that generally provides a new way of doing something, or offers a new technical solution to a problem. To get a patent, technical information about the invention must be disclosed to the public in a patent application.
(WIPO).
Engineering Village 2
Engineering Village, the essential engineering research database, provides a searchable index of the most comprehensive engineering literature and patent information available.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need.
Web of Science is an online subscription-based scientific citation indexing service maintained by Thomson Reuters that provides a comprehensive citation search. Patent information can be searched using this product. Follow the procedure to search patent; Select All Databases -> Search your related term -> Select Document Type "Patent" from Refine Result -> Click on Analyze Results -> Select Analyze -> View Records.
Standards are officially approved benchmarks aimed to ensure that goods and services meet the minimum set limit. They cover ranges like: Design, Performance, Quality, and Safety.
The Library has access to BIS (Indian Standards) and also subscriptions to the American Society for Testing and Materials.
American Society for Testing and Materials.
ASTM International is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of voluntary consensus standards. Today, over 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.
Bureau of Indian Standards (Indian Standards).
Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) is the National Standards body of India which has been successfully promoting and nurturing standards in the country since 1947. With over 500 qualified technical and scientific personnel and more than 25,000 experts voluntarily associated with standardization activities, BIS has formulated around 19,000 standards in various technological and industrial areas
MIT OpenCourseWare
MIT OpenCourseWare (MIT OCW) is an initiative of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) to put all of the educational materials from its undergraduate- and graduate-level courses online, freely and openly available to anyone, anywhere. MIT OpenCourseWare is a large-scale, web-based publication of MIT course materials.
Tektronix Courseware Eco-System
To bring in the community of educators in electronics engineering laboratory courses, Tektronix launched an online platform to share lab courseware for free.
National Instruments Courseware
You can Search hundreds of resources for homework problems, lab exercises, example programs, and tutorials. You can also browse material by application area, course, and product.
myopencourse
myopencourses provides offer more than 7500 hours of brilliant content created by the top Indian universities and academics including the IITs and IISC.
College Open Textbooks
The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. Browse here
Bookboon.com
Bookboon.com was established in Denmark in 1988, under the name Ventus, and has always focused on publishing educational material for students and business professionals. As a global eBook publisher, bookboon.com offers a wide range of over 1,000 textbooks for students and 600 eBooks for business professionals in 9 languages. Browse here
Mary Ann Liebert, Inc.
Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. is a leading company in the Scientific, Technical, and Medical knowledge and information industry. We are known for authoritative international publications in cutting-edge basic and translational biomedical research, with expanding scope in engineering, business, environment, and legal publications. Browse here
The Million Book Project
The Million Book Project was a book digitization project, led by Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science and University Libraries. Working with government and research partners in India (Digital Library of India) and China, the project scanned books in many languages, using OCR to enable full-text searching, and providing free-to-read access to the books on the web. Browse here
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated list of open access journals and aims to be the starting point for all information searches for quality, peer-reviewed open access material. Following are the jorunals in this subject area:
1. Computer engineering and Computer hardware
2. Telecommunication
NISCAIR Research Journals
The National Institute of Science Communication and Information Resources, located at New Delhi, India, is an information science institute in India founded in 2002 publishes a number of open access journals which is open for all. Following are the jorunals in this subject area:
1. Indian Journal of Engineering and Materials Sciences
2. Bharatiya Vaigyanik Evam Audyogik Anusandhan Patrika (BVAAP)
Usage Policy
-
Electronic resources such as e-journals, e-databases, e-books made available by the Central Library, NIT Rourkela are for academic use.
-
These resources can be searched, browsed and material may be downloaded and printed as single copies of articles as is done in the case of printed library material. Downloading or printing of a complete book or an entire issue or a volume of one or more journals (called systematic downloading) is strictly prohibited.
-
Use of robots, spiders or intelligent agents to access, search and systematically download from these resources is also prohibited.
-
Please be aware that systematic downloading will cause the publisher to block to the entire community of users @ NIT Rourkela from accessing these resources.
The INDEST-AICTE Consortium subscribes to thousands of electronic journals and bibliographic databases for use by authorized users in member institutions. The terms and conditions for using these resources are spelled out in electronic resource license agreements with each publisher. It is the responsibility of individual users to ensure that the use of electronic resources does not breach the terms and conditions specified in the license agreements. Licenses vary from publisher to publisher; however, the general principles are as follows:
Actions that are permitted
-
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving a copy of search results.
-
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving individual articles.
-
Using these e-resources for scholarly, educational or scientific research, teaching, private study and clinical purpose.
-
Sending a copy of an article to another authorized user (i.e. current faculty, students or staff).
-
Posting the URL to the publisher's version of the article on a class website (publisher links will allow only authorized users access)
Actions that are not Permitted
-
Use of robots or intelligent agents to do systematic, bulk or automatic downloading is not permitted.
-
Systematic downloading or printing of entire journal issues or volumes, or large portions of other e-resources is not permitted.
-
Using e-resources for commercial gain is not permitted (i.e. reselling, redistributing or republishing licensed content).
-
Transmitting, disseminating or otherwise making online content available to unauthorized users (i.e. sending to mailing lists or electronic bulletin boards) is not permitted.
-
Posting the publisher's version or PDF of an article to an open class website is not permitted (instead, post the URL to the article which will allow only authorized users access).
