- Introduction
- Books / E-Books
- Databases
- Patents / Standards
- Open Access Resources
- E-Resources Usage Policy
- Magazines / E-Journals
There is a quote by the famous German mathematician Karl Friedrich Gauss “Mathematics is the queen of all sciences”. He was quite justified because without mathematics, existence of any kind of science is impossible. Mathematics expresses itself everywhere, in almost every facet of life - in nature all around us, and in the technologies in our hands. Mathematics is the language of science and engineering - describing our understanding of all that we observe.
Click on the link to read more - Mathematics.
This guide is designed to help you to locate and access below key resources available in this subject area on a single platform:
- Books and E-Books
- Magazines and E-Journals
- Subscribed Databases
- Open Access Resources
- Technology Enabled Learning Resources
- Videos, Lessons
- Library Catalog (OPAC / WEBOPAC)
- E-resources Usage Policy
If you want to explore on the above resources then click on each Tab.
BPCL team welcomes all your suggestions, feedback and active participation to improve this library guide (LibGuide) using Feedback & Suggestion or mail to HOD, BPCL at library@nitrkl.ac.in.
Search and Locate Print Books
Library catalog can be searched within or from outside the library. Inside the library OPAC stations and Information KIOSK are available to search books. From outside the library, users can search library catalog using this link: Library Catalog.
How to Search Catalog? Click here.
Search E-Books
To get access to all subscribed e-books by Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL).
Search e-books using the text box at the top of this page, or click "Advanced Search" for additional search options using E-Books Catalog.
Biju Patnaik Central Library uses Dewey Decimal Classification system and simple author code to classify books.
A class number is a simple number used to identify & locate books in the library.
Example: 510.02433 for Mathematics and statistics for management.
An author code are simple letters used to identify titles written by a different author, like first three letter of the title of author / first letter of the title of the book.
Example: a book titled Mathematics and statistics for management written by K. B. Akhilesh and author code is: AKH/M.
The complete Call no. would be : 510.02433 --- Class No.
AKH/M --- Author Code / First letter of the Book title
69818 --- Accession No.
Below are select list of topics and their respective call nos. of books related to Mathematics
Call No. Subject Groups
510 General Mathematics
512 - 515.98 Arithmetic, Topology, and Analysis
516 Geometry
518 - 519 Numerical Analysis and Applied Mathematics
Latest books and periodicals added to the Central Library.
Check all New Books and Periodicals in the library collection from here!
Check Table of Content of Indian Print Journals/Magazines from here!
An online database is a database accessible from a local network or the Internet. Online databases are hosted on websites, made available as software as a service product accessible via a web browser. They may be free or require payment, such as by a monthly subscription. Some have enhanced features such as collaborative editing and email notification. (Wikipedia)
The Online database is basically to give access to particular journal title you are seeking. Searching the table of content, bibliographic details and abstracts are possible using these databases. Further accessing of full-text of journal articles via campus computers using these subscribed databases. Click here to explore more on Electronic Resources.
EI is a Web-based information service that offers a broad range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields.
It covers research in mathematics and mathematically related research in statistics, computer science, physics, operations research, engineering, biology, and other disciplines, and indexes 1800 serials and journals.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process. You can spend less time mastering databases and more time on research. It has 33 million abstracts as of now.
The Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- A Basic Course in Real Analysis
- Advanced Engineering Mathematics
- Advanced Matrix Theory and Linear Algebra for Engineers
- Applied Multivariate Analysis
- Calculus of Variations and Integral Equations
- Convex Optimization
- Elementary Numerical Analysis
- Functional Analysis
- Linear programming and Extensions
- Measure and Integration
- Probability and Statistics
- Statistical Inference
- Stochastic Processes
Video lecturers developed by A N Khosla Centre for Technology Enabled Learning (ANKCTEL), NIT Rourkela.
Click on the Video Lecturer to access.
A patent is an exclusive right granted for an invention. In other words, a patent is an exclusive right to a product or a process that generally provides a new way of doing something, or offers a new technical solution to a problem. To get a patent, technical information about the invention must be disclosed to the public in a patent application.
(WIPO).
NIT Rourkela is having access to following patent resources.
Engineering Village 2
Engineering Village, the essential engineering research database, provides a searchable index of the most comprehensive engineering literature and patent information available. Follow the procedure to search patent; Go to Quick Search -> Search your related term -> Select Document Type "Patent" from Refine Result -> Click on Limit To to get the desired result.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need. Follow the procedure to search patent; Click on Search -> Select Document and type your term -> Click on View patent results on Document Search Results to view patents.
Web of Science is an online subscription-based scientific citation indexing service maintained by Thomson Reuters that provides a comprehensive citation search. Patent information can be searched using this product. Follow the procedure to search patent; Select All Databases -> Search your related term -> Select Document Type "Patent" from Refine Result -> Click on Analyze Results -> Select Analyze -> View Records.
Standards are officially approved benchmarks aimed to ensure that goods and services meet the minimum set limit. They cover ranges like; Design, Performance, Quality, and Safety.
The Library has access to BIS (Indian Standards) and also subscriptions to the American Society for Testing and Materials.
American Society for Testing and Materials.
ASTM International is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of voluntary consensus standards. Today, over 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.
Bureau of Indian Standards (Indian Standards).
Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) is the National Standards body of India which has been successfully promoting and nurturing standards in the country since 1947. With over 500 qualified technical and scientific personnel and more than 25,000 experts voluntarily associated with standardization activities, BIS has formulated around 19,000 standards in various technological and industrial areas.
Bookboon.com was established in Denmark in 1988, under the name Ventus, and has always focused on publishing educational material for students and business professionals.
E-Books Directory is a daily growing list of freely downloadable electronic books, documents and lecture notes found all over the internet. This site has 9563 free e-books in 669 categories.
It contains links to thousands of free online technical books. The books collection are either downloadable or can be viewed online. Our collections include core Computer Science, Electronics, Science, Medical and many more. You are welcome to follow the following links for the free books tour.
Discover all-new, rising authors. Independent writers offer both entertaining fiction/romance for your enjoyment and non-fiction to help you find info from self-help to biz growth.
It regularly publish details about legally available free online books and ebooks related to Mathematics. This site lists books which are provided by publishers or authors on their websites legally and free of charge.
This site lists free online computer science, engineering and programming books, textbooks and lecture notes, all of which are legally and freely available over the Internet.
HathiTrust is a partnership of the leading research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
The Million Book Project was a book digitization project, led by Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science and University Libraries. Working with government and research partners in India (Digital Library of India) and China.
Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community. Our whole mission is to centralize this content, curate it, and give you access to this high quality content whenever and wherever you want it.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated list of open access journals and aims to be the starting point for all information searches for quality, peer-reviewed open access material. Following are the journals in this subject area:
Open Mathematics
Open Mathematics published by de Gruyter in the subject areas of Algebra and Number Theory, Analysis, Geometry and Topology, General Mathematics
Usage Policy
-
Electronic resources such as e-journals, e-databases, e-books made available by the Central Library, NIT Rourkela are for academic use.
-
These resources can be searched, browsed and material may be downloaded and printed as single copies of articles as is done in the case of printed library material. Downloading or printing of a complete book or an entire issue or a volume of one or more journals (called systematic downloading) is strictly prohibited.
-
Use of robots, spiders or intelligent agents to access, search and systematically download from these resources is also prohibited.
-
Please be aware that systematic downloading will cause the publisher to block to the entire community of users @ NIT Rourkela from accessing these resources.
The INDEST-AICTE Consortium subscribes to thousands of electronic journals and bibliographic databases for use by authorized users in member institutions. The terms and conditions for using these resources are spelled out in electronic resource license agreements with each publisher. It is the responsibility of individual users to ensure that the use of electronic resources does not breach the terms and conditions specified in the license agreements. Licenses vary from publisher to publisher; however, the general principles are as follows:
Actions that are permitted
-
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving a copy of search results.
-
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving individual articles.
-
Using these e-resources for scholarly, educational or scientific research, teaching, private study and clinical purpose.
-
Sending a copy of an article to another authorized user (i.e. current faculty, students or staff).
-
Posting the URL to the publisher's version of the article on a class website (publisher links will allow only authorized users access)
Actions that are not Permitted
-
Use of robots or intelligent agents to do systematic, bulk or automatic downloading is not permitted.
-
Systematic downloading or printing of entire journal issues or volumes, or large portions of other e-resources is not permitted.
-
Using e-resources for commercial gain is not permitted (i.e. reselling, redistributing or republishing licensed content).
-
Transmitting, disseminating or otherwise making online content available to unauthorized users (i.e. sending to mailing lists or electronic bulletin boards) is not permitted.
-
Posting the publisher's version or PDF of an article to an open class website is not permitted (instead, post the URL to the article which will allow only authorized users access).
Locate Print Journals
The Latest issue of print journals are available in the Central Library (Periodical Display Area - Ground Floor).
Click on the Table of Content of these periodicals.
How to Search Journals and Articles?
To get access to all subscribed e-journals by Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL). Follow the procedure: Open Library Website > Electronic Resources > Choose either Abstract Database / Full-text Database > Click on the required database and use simple/advanced search option to search articles.
To explore full list of e-resources Click here
Access the latest Table of Contents in your subject area here:
Applications of Mathematics
Computational Mathematics and Modeling
Journal of Mathematical Sociology
Library subscribes following print journals on this subject. These are displayed in the New Arrivals display area (at Ground Floor).
No. Title Publisher- Bulletin of the Mathematical Society Allahabad Mathematical Society
- Calcutta Statistical Asociation Bulletin Calcutta Statistical Association
- CSIR News NISCAIR, New Delhi
- Indian Journal of History of Science Indian National Science Academy
- Indian Journal of Mathematics Allahabad Mathematical Society
- Indian Journal of Pure and Applied Mathematics NISCAIR, New Delhi
- Journal of Indian Statistical Association Indian Statistical Asociation
- Journal of Intellectual Property Rights NISCAIR, New Delhi
- Journal of Scientific Temper NISCAIR, New Delhi
- Proceedings Mathematical Sciences Indian Academy of Science
De Gruyter group publishes over 1,300 new titles each year in the humanities, social sciences, STM and law, more than 700 subscription based or Open Access journals, and a variety of digital products.
IEEE produces over 30% of the world's literature in the electrical and electronics engineering and computer science fields, publishing well over 100 peer-reviewed journals.The published content in these journals as well as the content from several hundred annual conferences sponsored by the IEEE. Click here for the list.
Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience. Click here for the list.
SAGE Publishing publishes more than 1,000 journals, more than 800 books a year,reference works and electronic products covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. Click here for the list.
Science Direct provides desktop access to the full text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier Science. NITR has access to 40 e-only subscribed journals with five current subject collections. Click here for the list.
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
SIAM publishes 17 peer-reviewed research journals.SIAM exists to ensure the strongest interactions between mathematics and other scientific and technological communities through membership activities, publication of journals and books, and conferences.
Springer Link is one of the worlds leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. Springer Link is a powerful central access point for researchers and scientists. NITR has access to e-journals, eBooks, eBook Series. Click here for the list.
Taylor & Francis
Library Wiley Inter Science is a leading international resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors. The NITR subscribes the 23 Core and Customized Journals of various disciplines of user interest. Click here for the list.
Choose your e-resource from the list
