- Introduction
- Books / E-Books
- Magazines / E-Journals
- Databases
- Patents / Standards
- Open Access Resources
- E-Resources Usage Policy
The Department of Planning and Architecture (PA) was established in 2013 with the objective of amalgamating the aesthetics and technology together into a piece of art, in a creative way, not only to fulfil the societal need of shelter and to solve the infrastructure problem but also to take care of the emerging concern of energy and environmental issues.
Click on the link to read more - Planning & Architecture.
This guide is designed to help you to locate and access below key resources available in this subject area on a single platform:
- Books and E-Books
- Magazines and E-Journals
- Subscribed Databases
- Open Access Resources
- Technology Enabled Learning Resources
- Videos, Lessons
- Library Catalog (OPAC / WEBOPAC)
- E-resources Usage Policy
If you want to explore on the above resources then click on each Tab.
BPCL team welcomes all your suggestions, feedback and active participation to improve this library guide (LibGuide) using Feedback & Suggestion or mail to HOD, BPCL at library@nitrkl.ac.in.
Search and Locate Print Books
Library catalog can be searched within or from outside the library. Inside the library OPAC stations and Information KIOSK are available to search books. From outside the library, users can search library catalog using this link: Library Catalog.
How to Search Catalog? Click here.
Search E-Books
To get access to all subscribed e-books by Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL).
Search e-books using the Search box at the top of this page and select "E-Book" form the filter by item type options to get E-Books Catalog.
Biju Patnaik Central Library uses Dewey Decimal Classification system and simple author code to classify books.
A class number is a simple number used to identify & locate books in the library.
Example: 711.4 for Planning the modern city.
An author code are simple letters used to identify titles written by a different author, like first three letter of the title of author / first letter of the title of the book.
Example: a book titled Planning the modern city written by Harold Maclean Lewis and author code is: LEW/P.
The complete Call no. would be : 711.4 --- Class No.
LEW/P --- Author Code / First letter of the Book title
6578 --- Accession No.
Below are select list of topics and their respective call nos. of books related to Planning and Architecture.
Call No. Subject Groups
526.9 - 526.99 : Surveying
710 : Civic and Landscape Art
711 - 711.8 : City, and Urban Planning
712 - 719 : Landscape Architecture and Design
720 - 720.954 : History of Architecture, Drawing and Remodeling
721 - 721.84 : Architectural Structure
722 - 723 : Ancient Architecture
724 - 724.7 : Modern Architecture
725 - 725.98 : Public Structure
726 - 728.98 : Building for Religious, Education, Residential, and related purpose
729 - 729.8 : Design and Decoration of Structure
Latest books and periodicals added to the Central Library.
Check all New Books and Periodicals in the library collection from here!
Check Table of Content of Indian Print Journals/Magazines from here!
Locate Print Journals
The Latest issue of print journals are available in the Central Library (Periodical Display Area - Ground Floor).
Click on the Table of Content of these periodicals.
How to Search Journals and Articles?
To get access to all subscribed e-journals by Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL). Follow the procedure: Open Library Website > Electronic Resources > Choose either Abstract Database / Full-text Database > Click on the required database and use simple/advanced search option to search articles.
To explore full list of e-resources Click here
Access the latest Table of Contents in your subject area here:
Engineering, Construction and Architectural Management
Library subscribes following print journals on this subject. These are displayed in the New Arrivals display area (at Ground Floor).
No. Title Publisher- Architectural Record McGraw Hill
- Architecture + Design Magazine
- Architecture: Time, Space and People Council of Architecture
- Inside Outside Business India Group
- Journal of IE (India): Series A The Institution of Engineers & Springer
The ASCE Library provides online access to a high-quality collection of civil engineering content. It contains articles from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, and e-books and standards from 1998 to the present, including all in-print ASCE Manuals of Practice and ASCE Press titles.
ASTM International is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services.
Bentham Science has been publishing many high impact factor publications since 1992. With over 110 scientific journals and several hundred E books we are continuously serving the information needs of the STM field in general and the Pharmaceutical and Biomedical research communities in particular.
Emerald manages a portfolio of nearly 300 journals, more than 2,500 books and over 1,500 teaching cases.
IOP Science embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content.
JSTOR content is provided by more than 900 publishers.The database contains more than 1,900 journal titles, in more than 50 disciplines. Each object is uniquely identified by an integer value.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide.
Science Direct (Elsevier) combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality which covers 24 subject collections across disciplines such as biochemistry, genetics and molecular biology, chemistry, clinical medicine, engineering and veterinary medicine.
Taylor and Francis (T&F) publishes more than 2,500 journals, and approximately 6,500 new books each year, with a backlist of over 130,000 titles which covers humanities, social sciences, behavioural sciences, law and education and the Taylor & Francis, CRC Press and Garland Science imprints for its publishing in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
Choose your e-resource from the list
An online database is a database accessible from a local network or the Internet. Online databases are hosted on websites, made available as software as a service product accessible via a web browser. They may be free or require payment, such as by a monthly subscription. Some have enhanced features such as collaborative editing and email notification. (Wikipedia)
The Online database is basically to give access to particular journal title you are seeking. Searching the table of content, bibliographic details and abstracts are possible using these databases. Further accessing of full-text of journal articles via campus computers using these subscribed databases. Click here to explore more on Electronic Resources.
Engineering Village
EI is a Web-based information service that offers a broad range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields.
J-Gate Custom Content for Consortium (JCCC)
J-Gate Custom Content for Consortium (JCCC) is a virtual library of journal literature created as a customized e-journals access gateway and database solution. It acts as a one point access to 7900+ journals subscribed currently under UGC INFONET Digital library consortium as well as university libraries designated as Inter Library Loan (ILL) Centers besides index to open access journals.SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science and more. SciFinder Registration Procedure.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process. You can spend less time mastering databases and more time on research. It has 33 million abstracts as of now.
The Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Video lecturers developed by A N Khosla Centre for Technology Enabled Learning (ANKCTEL), NIT Rourkela.
Click on the Video Lecturer to access.
A patent is an exclusive right granted for an invention. In other words, a patent is an exclusive right to a product or a process that generally provides a new way of doing something, or offers a new technical solution to a problem. To get a patent, technical information about the invention must be disclosed to the public in a patent application.
(WIPO).
NIT Rourkela is having access to following patent resources.
Engineering Village 2
Engineering Village, the essential engineering research database, provides a searchable index of the most comprehensive engineering literature and patent information available.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need.
Web of Science is an online subscription-based scientific citation indexing service maintained by Thomson Reuters that provides a comprehensive citation search. Patent information can be searched using this product. Follow the procedure to search patent; Select All Databases -> Search your related term -> Select Document Type "Patent" from Refine Result -> Click on Analyze Results -> Select Analyze -> View Records.
Standards are officially approved benchmarks aimed to ensure that goods and services meet the minimum set limit. They cover ranges like; Design, Performance, Quality, and Safety.
The Library has access to BIS (Indian Standards) and also subscriptions to the American Society for Testing and Materials.
American Society for Testing and Materials.
ASTM International is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of voluntary consensus standards. Today, over 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.
Bureau of Indian Standards (Indian Standards).
Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) is the National Standards body of India which has been successfully promoting and nurturing standards in the country since 1947. With over 500 qualified technical and scientific personnel and more than 25,000 experts voluntarily associated with standardization activities, BIS has formulated around 19,000 standards in various technological and industrial areas
The objective was to unveil and identify the most uncommon and undiscovered – yet most certainly impressive – approaches in the ever growing, ever demanding world of architecture, design, art, and all that relates.
The site aim to be the bridge that connects what you learn in architecture school to how you would practically apply that knowledge at work.
Free Online Architecture Classes, Many From Top Universities.
Arch2O has been launched in the mid of 2012 by a group of Virginia Tech graduates who has long been striving to create an international platform for creative youth associated with architecture; students, academics, professionals or even just enthusiasts to critically develop architecture and question everything around it for the field to continually progress.
The Architecture Open Library is an exciting proposal from Links Books (www.linksbooks.net) that supplements a traditional architecture library with new technologies. It is a multimedia platform that offers the users an exhaustive inspirational source.
Free Book Spot is a free e-books links library where you can find and download free books in almost any category. Do you like ebooks? This is place for you! We have lots of links to free ebooks in more than 90 categories. You can find scientific, engineering, programming, fiction and many other books.
E-Books Directory (Arts & Photography)
E-Books Directory is a daily growing list of freely downloadable electronic books, documents and lecture notes found all over the internet. This site has 9563 free e-books in 669 categories.
Directory of Open Access Books
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact.
HathiTrust Digital Library: Planning and Architecture
HathiTrust is a partnership of the leading research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
AJAR is an online Open Access peer-reviewed journal for all kinds of design research and scholarly research within the architectural field, and has been set up by the Architectural Research European Network Association (ARENA) network.
ArchNet-IJAR is an interdisciplinary scholarly open access journal of architecture, planning, and built environment studies. The journal aims at establishing a bridge between theory and practice in the fields of architectural and design research, and urban planning and built environment studies.
Buildings (ISSN 2075-5309) is an international, scientific, open access journal on building science, building engineering and architecture published quarterly online by MDPI.
Open Access Architecture and Urban Planning Journals
The Open Access Journals Search Engine (OAJSE) service covers free, full text, quality controlled journals. We aim to cover journals in all subjects that are published in English language. There are now 4,775 journals in the directory. All are searchable at article level.
OMICS International and its subsidiaries including iMedPub LLC and Conference Series LLC Organizes 3000+ Conferences across USA, Europe & Asia with support from 1000 more scientific societies and Publishes 700+ Open Access Journals which contains over 50000 eminent personalities, reputed scientists as editorial board members.
Open Access Educational Videos and Courses.
Architecture (MITOpenCourseware)
Architecture and Design Courses (Arch Daily)
Usage Policy
-
Electronic resources such as e-journals, e-databases, e-books made available by the Central Library, NIT Rourkela are for academic use.
-
These resources can be searched, browsed and material may be downloaded and printed as single copies of articles as is done in the case of printed library material. Downloading or printing of a complete book or an entire issue or a volume of one or more journals (called systematic downloading) is strictly prohibited.
-
Use of robots, spiders or intelligent agents to access, search and systematically download from these resources is also prohibited.
-
Please be aware that systematic downloading will cause the publisher to block to the entire community of users @ NIT Rourkela from accessing these resources.
The INDEST-AICTE Consortium subscribes to thousands of electronic journals and bibliographic databases for use by authorized users in member institutions. The terms and conditions for using these resources are spelled out in electronic resource license agreements with each publisher. It is the responsibility of individual users to ensure that the use of electronic resources does not breach the terms and conditions specified in the license agreements. Licenses vary from publisher to publisher; however, the general principles are as follows:
Actions that are permitted
-
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving a copy of search results.
-
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving individual articles.
-
Using these e-resources for scholarly, educational or scientific research, teaching, private study and clinical purpose.
-
Sending a copy of an article to another authorized user (i.e. current faculty, students or staff).
-
Posting the URL to the publisher's version of the article on a class website (publisher links will allow only authorized users access)
Actions that are not Permitted
-
Use of robots or intelligent agents to do systematic, bulk or automatic downloading is not permitted.
-
Systematic downloading or printing of entire journal issues or volumes, or large portions of other e-resources is not permitted.
-
Using e-resources for commercial gain is not permitted (i.e. reselling, redistributing or republishing licensed content).
-
Transmitting, disseminating or otherwise making online content available to unauthorized users (i.e. sending to mailing lists or electronic bulletin boards) is not permitted.
-
Posting the publisher's version or PDF of an article to an open class website is not permitted (instead, post the URL to the article which will allow only authorized users access).
