- Introduction
- Books / E-Books
- Magazines / E-Journals
- Databases
- Patents / Standards
- Open Access Resources
- E-Resources Usage Policy
Management education provides the basic principles and skills for successfully handling the real life business problems. Qualitative B-school learning strikes an impeccable balance between theory and practice to groom the future action oriented leaders. School of Management offers two years Graduate Programme in Management (MBA) and subsequent research activities such as doctorate in Management and interdisciplinary fields.
Click on the link to read more - School of Management.
This guide is designed to help you to locate and access below key resources available in this subject area on a single platform:
- Books and E-Books
- Magazines and E-Journals
- Subscribed Databases
- Open Access Resources
- Technology Enabled Learning Resources
- Videos, Lessons
- Library Catalog (OPAC / WEBOPAC)
- E-resources Usage Policy
If you want to explore on the above resources then click on each Tab.
BPCL team welcomes all your suggestions, feedback and active participation to improve this library guide (LibGuide) using Feedback & Suggestion or mail to HOD, BPCL at library@nitrkl.ac.in.
Search and Locate Print Books
Library catalog can be searched within or from outside the library. Inside the library OPAC stations and Information KIOSK are available to search books. From outside the library, users can search library catalog using this link: Library Catalog.
How to Search Catalog? Click here.
Search E-Books
To get access to all subscribed e-books by Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL).
Search e-books using the text box at the top of this page, or click "Advanced Search" for additional search options using E-Books Catalog.
Biju Patnaik Central Library uses Dewey Decimal Classification system and simple author code to classify books.
A class number is a simple number used to identify & locate books in the library.
Example: 658 for Business Organisation and Management.
An author code are simple letters used to identify titles written by a different author, like first three letter of the title of author / first letter of the title of the book.
Example: a book titled Business Organisation and Management written by M. C. Shukla and author code is: SHU/B.
The complete Call no. would be: 658 --- Class No.
SHU/B --- Author Code/First letter of the Book title
42441 --- Accession No.
Below are select list of topics and their respective call nos. of books related to Management.
Call No. Subject Groups
658 - 658.05 : General Management
658.1 - 658.18 : Organisation and Finance
658.2 - 658.28 : Plant Management
658.3 - 658.358 : Personal Management (HRM)
658.4 - 658.478 : Executive Management
658.5 - 658.577 : Management of Production
658.7 - 658.788 : Management of Materials
658.8 - 658.883 : Management of Marketing
658.9 - 658.99 : Management of Enterprises
659 - 658.299 : Advertising and Public Relations
Latest books and periodicals added to the Central Library.
Check all New Books and Periodicals in the library collection from here!
Check Table of Content of Indian Print Journals/Magazines from here!
Locate Print Journals
The Latest issue of print journals are available in the Central Library (Periodical Display Area - Ground Floor).
Click on the Table of Content of these periodicals.
How to Search Journals and Articles?
To get access to all subscribed e-journals by Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL). Follow the procedure: Open Library Website > Electronic Resources > Choose either Abstract Database / Full-text Database > Click on the required database and use simple/advanced search option to search articles.
To explore full list of e-resources Click here
Library subscribes following print journals on this subject. These are displayed in the New Arrivals display area (at Ground Floor).
No. Title Publisher
1. Management of Labour and Studies Sage
2. The Indian Journal of Industrials Relations S. R. Centre for Industrial Relations & HR
3. University News Association of Indian Universities
4. Vikalpa - IIMA Sage
Emerald Publishing was founded in 1967 to champion new ideas that would advance the research and practice of business and management. Emerald manages a portfolio of nearly 300 journals, more than 2,500 books and over 1,500 teaching cases.
Harvard Business Publishing (HBP) was founded in 1994 as a not-for-profit, wholly-owned subsidiary of Harvard University, reporting into Harvard Business School.
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. We help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform.
SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
Elsevier’s leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Springer is a leading global scientific, technical and medical portfolio, providing researchers in academia, scientific institutions and corporate R&D departments with quality content through innovative information, products and services.
Choose your e-resource from the list
An online database is a database accessible from a local network or the Internet. Online databases are hosted on websites, made available as software as a service product accessible via a web browser. They may be free or require payment, such as by a monthly subscription. Some have enhanced features such as collaborative editing and email notification. (Wikipedia)
The Online database is basically to give access to particular journal title you are seeking. Searching the table of content, bibliographic details and abstracts are possible using these databases. Further accessing of full-text of journal articles via campus computers using these subscribed databases. Click here to explore more on Electronic Resources.
J-Gate Custom Content for Consortium (JCCC) is a virtual library of journal literature created as a customized e-journals access gateway and database solution. It provides access to 7900+ journals subscribed currently under UGC INFONET Digital library consortium as well as university libraries designated as Inter Library Loan (ILL) Centers besides index to open access journals.
Prowess is a database of the financial performance of Indian companies. Annual Reports of individual companies is the principal source of this database. The database covers listed and unlisted companies. For listed companies, the database includes data sourced from the stock exchanges. Prowess contains time-series data from 1989-90. It is updated continuously. Click here to know how to access ?
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
The Institute for Studies in Industrial Development (ISID)
ISID a sponsored institution of the Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR), is a public-funded, non-commercial research and development institution in social science. ISID has developed databases on various aspects of the Indian economy, particularly concerning industry and the corporate sector. It has created On-line Indexes of Indian Social Science Journals (OLI) and Press Clippings on diverse social science subjects.
(formerly Web of Knowledge) is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search.
Security Analysis and Portfolio Management
Video lecturers developed by A N Khosla Centre for Technology Enabled Learning (ANKCTEL), NIT Rourkela.
Click on the Video Lecturer to access.
A patent is an exclusive right granted for an invention. In other words, a patent is an exclusive right to a product or a process that generally provides a new way of doing something, or offers a new technical solution to a problem. To get a patent, technical information about the invention must be disclosed to the public in a patent application.
(WIPO).
NIT Rourkela is having access to following patent resources.
Engineering Village 2
Engineering Village, the essential engineering research database, provides a searchable index of the most comprehensive engineering literature and patent information available.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need.
Web of Science is an online subscription-based scientific citation indexing service maintained by Thomson Reuters that provides a comprehensive citation search. Patent information can be searched using this product. Follow the procedure to search patent; Select All Databases -> Search your related term -> Select Document Type "Patent" from Refine Result -> Click on Analyze Results -> Select Analyze -> View Records.
Standards are officially approved benchmarks aimed to ensure that goods and services meet the minimum set limit. They cover ranges like; Design, Performance, Quality, and Safety.
The Library has access to BIS (Indian Standards) and also subscriptions to the American Society for Testing and Materials.
American Society for Testing and Materials.
ASTM International is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of voluntary consensus standards. Today, over 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.
Bureau of Indian Standards (Indian Standards).
Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) is the National Standards body of India which has been successfully promoting and nurturing standards in the country since 1947. With over 500 qualified technical and scientific personnel and more than 25,000 experts voluntarily associated with standardization activities, BIS has formulated around 19,000 standards in various technological and industrial areas
The EPWRF India Times Series (EPWRFITS), interactive online database launched in January 2011, is an initiative taken by the EPW Research Foundation (EPWRF) with an aim to provide credible time series data facilitating research across various sectors of Indian Economy.
Its is a leading global non-profit organisation that provides persistent identifiers (DOIs) for research data. Our goal is to help the research community locate, identify, and cite research data with confidence.
Glossary of statistical terminologies and jargons.
Internet Glossary of Statistical Terms
A flash based glossary explain terms with picture based examples.
Bookboon.com
Bookboon.com was established in Denmark in 1988, under the name Ventus, and has always focused on publishing educational material for students and business professionals.
College Open Text Books
The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks.
E-Books Directory is a daily growing list of freely downloadable electronic books, documents and lecture notes found all over the internet. This site has 9563 free e-books in 669 categories.
HathiTrust Digital Library: Business Managment
HathiTrust is a partnership of the leading research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
INTECH (Business, Management & Economics)
InTechOpen is the world's largest Science, Technology and Medicine Open Access book publisher. With a goal to provide free online access to research since 2004.
The Million Book Project was a book digitization project, led by Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science and University Libraries. Working with government and research partners in India (Digital Library of India) and China.
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden. Presently contains 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
The Indore Management Journal is published by the Indian Institute of Management, Indore, with the belief that management scholars and social scientists should integrate disciplines in an attempt to understand the complexities of contemporary management challenges.
A list of open access business journals (i.e. business journals with free articles). The list may include some journals which are partially open access (with most articles being available for free).
The Open Access Journals was founded with a mission to develop a reliable platform and to provide unrestricted access to scientific literature for rapid dissemination of recent updates in various disciplines of science and technology.
Open Access Journals Search Engine (OAJSE)
The OAJSE service covers free, full text, quality controlled journals. We aim to cover journals in all subjects that are published in English language. There are now 4,775 journals in the directory.
Press Academia publishes periodical journals in the area of economics, finance, accounting, auditing, marketing, management, strategic management and all other business related areas.
Journal of Research in Business and Management (JRBM) is an international journal for publishing research papers of Management and Business.
Routledge OA (Business Management & Accounting)
Routledge publish high quality, rigorously peer-reviewed open access (OA) research across the Routledge Business, Management and Accounting journals portfolio. The articles are freely available on publication to read online.
Science Publications
Science Publications is a commercial STM (Science, Technology, and Medicine) publisher of peer-reviewed, open access academic journals covers Business & Economics also.
SpringerOpen, launched in June 2010, includes Springer’s portfolio of 200+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science. And these are made freely and permanently available online immediately upon publication.
Usage Policy
-
Electronic resources such as e-journals, e-databases, e-books made available by the Central Library, NIT Rourkela are for academic use.
-
These resources can be searched, browsed and material may be downloaded and printed as single copies of articles as is done in the case of printed library material. Downloading or printing of a complete book or an entire issue or a volume of one or more journals (called systematic downloading) is strictly prohibited.
-
Use of robots, spiders or intelligent agents to access, search and systematically download from these resources is also prohibited.
-
Please be aware that systematic downloading will cause the publisher to block to the entire community of users @ NIT Rourkela from accessing these resources.
The INDEST-AICTE Consortium subscribes to thousands of electronic journals and bibliographic databases for use by authorized users in member institutions. The terms and conditions for using these resources are spelled out in electronic resource license agreements with each publisher. It is the responsibility of individual users to ensure that the use of electronic resources does not breach the terms and conditions specified in the license agreements. Licenses vary from publisher to publisher; however, the general principles are as follows:
Actions that are permitted
-
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving a copy of search results.
-
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving individual articles.
-
Using these e-resources for scholarly, educational or scientific research, teaching, private study and clinical purpose.
-
Sending a copy of an article to another authorized user (i.e. current faculty, students or staff).
-
Posting the URL to the publisher's version of the article on a class website (publisher links will allow only authorized users access)
Actions that are not Permitted
-
Use of robots or intelligent agents to do systematic, bulk or automatic downloading is not permitted.
-
Systematic downloading or printing of entire journal issues or volumes, or large portions of other e-resources is not permitted.
-
Using e-resources for commercial gain is not permitted (i.e. reselling, redistributing or republishing licensed content).
-
Transmitting, disseminating or otherwise making online content available to unauthorized users (i.e. sending to mailing lists or electronic bulletin boards) is not permitted.
-
Posting the publisher's version or PDF of an article to an open class website is not permitted (instead, post the URL to the article which will allow only authorized users access).
