The Department of Biotechnology and Medical Engineering was established in 2007 with the objective of providing a multidisciplinary research and teaching program in Biotechnology and Medical Engineering that advances fundamental understanding of how biological systems operate and to develop effective biology-based technologies for applications across a broad spectrum of societal needs including innovations in diagnosis, therapy of human diseases, design of novel biomaterials, biomedical devices, and in solving environmental hazard.
Search and Locate Print Books
Library catalog can be searched within or from outside the library. Inside the library OPAC stations and Information KIOSK are available to search books. From outside the library, users can search library catalog using this link: Library Catalog.
An online database is a database accessible from a local network or the Internet. Online databases are hosted on websites, made available as software as a service product accessible via a web browser. They may be free or require payment, such as by a monthly subscription. Some have enhanced features such as collaborative editing and email notification. (Wikipedia)
The Online database is basically to give access to particular journal title you are seeking. Searching the table of content, bibliographic details and abstracts are possible using these databases. Further accessing of full-text of journal articles via campus computers using these subscribed databases. Click here to explore more on Electronic Resources.
It covers research in mathematics and mathematically related research in statistics, computer science, physics, operations research, engineering, biology, and other disciplines, and indexes 1800 serials and journals.
SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science and more. SciFinder Registration Procedure.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process. You can spend less time mastering databases and more time on research. It has 33 million abstracts as of now.
To get access to all subscribed e-journals by Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL). Follow the procedure: Open Library Website > Electronic Resources > Choose either Abstract Database / Full-text Database > Click on the required database and use simple/advanced search option to search articles.
Elsevier's Science Direct
Science Direct provides desktop access to the full text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier Science. NITR has access to 40 e-only subscribed journals with five current subject collections. Click here for the list.
With weekly periodicity, Nature is an international journal publishing original, groundbreaking research spanning all of the scientific disciplines, like Articles, Letters to Nature and Brief Communications. Click here for the list.
Science is the world leading journal on original scientific research, global news, and commentary. The Science journals articles consistently rank among the worlds most cited research. NITR has access online to the following content. Click here for the list.
Springer Link is one of the worlds leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. Springer Link is a powerful central access point for researchers and scientists. NITR has access to e-journals, eBooks, eBook Series. Click here for the list.
Library Wiley Inter Science is a leading international resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors. The NITR subscribes the 23 Core and Customized Journals of various disciplines of user interest.Click here for the list.
Full list of E-Resources
Follow these link and choose e-resource type to see full list of e-resources on your subject.
A patent is an exclusive right granted for an invention. In other words, a patent is an exclusive right to a product or a process that generally provides a new way of doing something, or offers a new technical solution to a problem. To get a patent, technical information about the invention must be disclosed to the public in a patent application.
ASTM International is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of voluntary consensus standards. Today, over 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.
Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) is the National Standards body of India which has been successfully promoting and nurturing standards in the country since 1947. With over 500 qualified technical and scientific personnel and more than 25,000 experts voluntarily associated with standardization activities, BIS has formulated around 19,000 standards in various technological and industrial areas
This database provides basic information on products derived from the use of modern biotechnology, as well as some products with novel traits acquired by the use of conventional breeding or mutagenesis.
In this media-rich lesson, students learn how biotechnology's techniques and tools are being used to help identify and fight disease, and examine the ethical and privacy issues associated with genetic testing.
Bookboon.com was established in Denmark in 1988, under the name Ventus, and has always focused on publishing educational material for students and business professionals.
College Open Text Books
The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks.
The Million Book Project was a book digitization project, led by Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science and University Libraries. Working with government and research partners in India (Digital Library of India) and China.
Bentham Open publishes many peer-reviewed open access journals. These free-to-view online journals cover all major disciplines of science, technology, medicine and social sciences.
BioIT international Journals
BioIT international Journals emphasizes on current, innovative, developing and applicable methods in their respective fields. Articles are assessed based on research, originality, innovative, applicability, scientific standards, case study and relevance.
Frontiers is a community-rooted, open-access academic publisher. Frontiers is a community-rooted, open-access academic publisher.
Hindawi Publishing Corporation
Hindawi is a rapidly growing academic publisher with 414 peer-reviewed, Open Access journals covering a broad range of academic disciplines.
Indian Academy of Sciences
Publication of scientific journals has been a major activity of the Academy since its formation in 1934, and the Proceedings of the Indian Academy of Sciences Parts A and B began publication that very year.
Journal of Modern Biotechnology
JMB is an International, open access, peer-reviewed online journal that publishes content which possesses noteworthy contributions on all the aspect of the modern biotechnological research and developments.
Journal of Nanobiotechnology
Journal of Nanobiotechnologyis an open access peer-reviewed journal communicating scientific and technological advances in the fields of medicine and biology, with an emphasis on their interface with nanoscale sciences.
Mary Ann Liebert, Inc.
Is a leading company in the Scientific, Technical, and Medical knowledge and information industry. The company is known for authoritative international publications in cutting-edge basic and translational biomedical research, with expanding scope in engineering, business, environment, and legal publications.
Science Publications is a commercial STM (Science, Technology, and Medicine) publisher of peer-reviewed, open access academic journals.
Scientific Research Publishing
It is an academic publisher of open access journals. It also publishes academic books and conference proceedings. SCIRP currently has more than 200 open access journals in the areas of science, technology, and medicine.
Taylor & Francis Open and Routledge Open
Taylor & Francis and Routledge currently publish a number of pure open access journals, with no subscription content. The articles in these journals receive both rigorous peer review and expedited online publication.
Electronic resources such as e-journals, e-databases, e-books made available by the Central Library, NIT Rourkela are for academic use.
These resources can be searched, browsed and material may be downloaded and printed as single copies of articles as is done in the case of printed library material. Downloading or printing of a complete book or an entire issue or a volume of one or more journals (called systematic downloading) is strictly prohibited.
Use of robots, spiders or intelligent agents to access, search and systematically download from these resources is also prohibited.
Please be aware that systematic downloading will cause the publisher to block to the entire community of users @ NIT Rourkela from accessing these resources.
The INDEST-AICTE Consortium subscribes to thousands of electronic journals and bibliographic databases for use by authorized users in member institutions. The terms and conditions for using these resources are spelled out in electronic resource license agreements with each publisher. It is the responsibility of individual users to ensure that the use of electronic resources does not breach the terms and conditions specified in the license agreements. Licenses vary from publisher to publisher; however, the general principles are as follows:
Actions that are permitted
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving a copy of search results.
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving individual articles.
Using these e-resources for scholarly, educational or scientific research, teaching, private study and clinical purpose.
Sending a copy of an article to another authorized user (i.e. current faculty, students or staff).
Posting the URL to the publisher's version of the article on a class website (publisher links will allow only authorized users access)
Actions that are not Permitted
Use of robots or intelligent agents to do systematic, bulk or automatic downloading is not permitted.
Systematic downloading or printing of entire journal issues or volumes, or large portions of other e-resources is not permitted.
Using e-resources for commercial gain is not permitted (i.e. reselling, redistributing or republishing licensed content).
Transmitting, disseminating or otherwise making online content available to unauthorized users (i.e. sending to mailing lists or electronic bulletin boards) is not permitted.
Posting the publisher's version or PDF of an article to an open class website is not permitted (instead, post the URL to the article which will allow only authorized users access).