- Introduction
- Books / E-Books
- Magazines / E-Journals
- Databases
- Patents / Standards
- Open Access Resources
- E-Resources Usage Policy
Physics is one of the oldest disciplines of natural science that deals with understanding nature of matter and its motion through space and time. The laws of Physics explain the evolution of cells to creation of universe. Some of the basic areas of research in Physics are Atomic Physics, Nuclear Physics, Particle Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, and Astrophysics.
Click on the link to read more - Physics & Astronomy.
This guide is designed to help you to locate and access below key resources available in this subject area on a single platform:
- Books and E-Books
- Magazines and E-Journals
- Subscribed Databases
- Open Access Resources
- Technology Enabled Learning Resources
- Videos, Lessons
- Library Catalog (OPAC / WEBOPAC)
- E-resources Usage Policy
If you want to explore on the above resources then click on each Tab.
BPCL team welcomes all your suggestions, feedback and active participation to improve this library guide (LibGuide) using Feedback & Suggestions or mail to HOD, BPCL at library@nitrkl.ac.in.
Search and Locate Print Books
Library catalog can be searched within or from outside the library. Inside the library OPAC stations and Information KIOSK are available to search books. From outside the library, users can search library catalog using this link: Library Catalog.
How to Search Catalog? Click here.
Search E-Books
To get access to all subscribed e-books by Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL).
Search e-books using the text box at the top of this page, or click "Advanced Search" for additional search options using E-Books Catalog.
Biju Patnaik Central Library uses Dewey Decimal Classification system and simple author code to classify books.
A class number is a simple number used to identify & locate books in the library.
Example: 530 for Physics for Engineers.
An author code are simple letters used to identify titles written by a different author, like first three letter of the title of author / first letter of the title of the book.
Example: a book titled Physics for Engineers written by M. R. Srinivasan and author code is: SRI/P.
The complete Call no. would be : 530 --- Class No.
SRI/P --- Author Code / First letter of the Book title
44657 --- Accession No.
Below are select list of topics and their respective call nos. of books related to Physics and Astronomy.
Call No. Subject Groups
530 - 530.8 : Theories & Mathematical Physics, Instrumentation and Measurement
531 - 531.6 : Classical and Solid Mechanics
532 - 532.5 : Fluid and Liquid Mechanics
533 - 533.7 : Pneumatics (Gas Mechanics)
534 - 534.5 : Sound and related Vibrations
535 - 535.8 : Light, Infrared and Ultraviolet Phenomena
535 - 536.7 : Heat
537 - 537.6 : Electricity and Electronics
538 - 538.7 : Magnetism
539 - 539.7 : Modern Physics
Latest books and periodicals added to the Central Library.
Check all New Books and Periodicals in the library collection from here!
Check Table of Content of Indian Print Journals/Magazines from here!
Locate Print Journals
The Latest issue of print journals are available in the Central Library (Periodical Display Area - Ground Floor).
Click on the Table of Content of these periodicals.
How to Search Journals and Articles?
To get access to all subscribed e-journals by Biju Patnaik Central Library (BPCL). Follow the procedure: Open Library Website > Electronic Resources > Choose either Abstract Database / Full-text Database > Click on the required database and use simple/advanced search option to search articles.
To explore full list of e-resources Click here
Access the latest Table of Contents in your subject area here:
Journal of Astrophysics and Astronomy
Library subscribes following print journals on this subject. These are displayed in the New Arrivals display area (at Ground Floor).
No. Title Publisher
1. Bhratiya Vaigyanik evam Audyogik Anusandhan Patrika NISCAIR, New Delhi
2. Bulletin of Materials Science Indian Academy of Sc.
3. CSIR News NISCAIR, New Delhi
4. Indian Journal of Fiber & Textile Research NISCAIR, New Delhi
5. Indian Journal of Geo-Marine Science NISCAIR, New Delhi
6. Indian Journal of History of Science NISCAIR, New Delhi
7. Indian Journal of Pure & Applied Physics NISCAIR, New Delhi
8. Indian Journal of Aerospace Science & Technology NISCAIR, New Delhi
9. Indian Journal of Astophysics & Astronomy NISCAIR, New Delhi
10. Journal of Instrument Society of India IISc, Bangalore
11. Journal of Pure & Applied Industrial Physics NISCAIR, New Delhi
12. Journal of Scientific Temper NISCAIR, New Delhi
13. Pramana: Journal of Physics Indian Academy of Sc.
American Institute of Physics (AIP)
AIP Publishing is a wholly owned not-for-profit subsidiary of the American Institute of Physics (AIP). AIP Publishing’s mission is to support the charitable, scientific and educational purposes of AIP through scholarly publishing activities in the fields of the physical and related sciences. AIP Publishing’s portfolio comprises 19 highly regarded, peer-reviewed journals. Click here for the list.
American Physical Society (APS)
The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation. Click here for the list.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is Elsevier’s leading information solution for researchers, teachers, students, health care professionals and information professionals . It combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently. Click here for the list.
Science is the world leading journal on original scientific research, global news, and commentary. The Science journals articles consistently rank among the worlds most cited research. Click here for the list.
Springer
Springer Link is one of the worlds leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. Springer Link is a powerful central access point for researchers and scientists. NITR has access to e-journals, eBooks, eBook Series. Click here for the list.
Wiley Online Library
Library Wiley Inter Science is a leading international resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors. The NITR subscribes the 23 Core and Customized Journals of various disciplines of user interest. Click here for the list.
Choose your e-resource from the list
An online database is a database accessible from a local network or the Internet. Online databases are hosted on websites, made available as software as a service product accessible via a web browser. They may be free or require payment, such as by a monthly subscription. Some have enhanced features such as collaborative editing and email notification. (Wikipedia)
The Online database is basically to give access to particular journal title you are seeking. Searching the table of content, bibliographic details and abstracts are possible using these databases. Further accessing of full-text of journal articles via campus computers using these subscribed databases. Click here to explore more on Electronic Resources.
Engineering Village
EI is a Web-based information service that offers a broad range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields.
J-Gate Custom Content for Consortium (JCCC) is a virtual library of journal literature created as a customized e-journals access gateway and database solution. It acts as a one point access to 7900+ journals subscribed currently under UGC INFONET Digital library consortium as well as university libraries designated as Inter Library Loan (ILL) Centers besides index to open access journals. For more details, please access https://jgateplus.com/search/
It covers research in mathematics and mathematically related research in statistics, computer science, physics, operations research, engineering, biology, and other disciplines, and indexes 1800 serials and journals.
SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science and more. SciFinder Registration Procedure.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process. You can spend less time mastering databases and more time on research. It has 33 million abstracts as of now.
The Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
NPTEL video courses accessible to NIT Rourkela with in campus.
- Electronics
- Plasma Physics: Fundamentals and Applications
- Quantum Electronics
- Quantum Mechanics and Applications
- Special Topics in Classical Mechanics
Video lecturers developed by A N Khosla Centre for Technology Enabled Learning (ANKCTEL), NIT Rourkela.
Click on the Video Lecturer to access.
A patent is an exclusive right granted for an invention. In other words, a patent is an exclusive right to a product or a process that generally provides a new way of doing something, or offers a new technical solution to a problem. To get a patent, technical information about the invention must be disclosed to the public in a patent application.
(WIPO).
NIT Rourkela is having access to following patent resources.
Engineering Village 2
Engineering Village, the essential engineering research database, provides a searchable index of the most comprehensive engineering literature and patent information available.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It’s designed to find the information scientists need.
Web of Science is an online subscription-based scientific citation indexing service maintained by Thomson Reuters that provides a comprehensive citation search. Patent information can be searched using this product. Follow the procedure to search patent; Select All Databases -> Search your related term -> Select Document Type "Patent" from Refine Result -> Click on Analyze Results -> Select Analyze -> View Records.
Standards are officially approved benchmarks aimed to ensure that goods and services meet the minimum set limit. They cover ranges like; Design, Performance, Quality, and Safety.
The Library has access to BIS (Indian Standards) and also subscriptions to the American Society for Testing and Materials.
American Society for Testing and Materials.
ASTM International is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of voluntary consensus standards. Today, over 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.
Bureau of Indian Standards (Indian Standards).
Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) is the National Standards body of India which has been successfully promoting and nurturing standards in the country since 1947. With over 500 qualified technical and scientific personnel and more than 25,000 experts voluntarily associated with standardization activities, BIS has formulated around 19,000 standards in various technological and industrial areas
Boundless improves education for millions of students and educators through educational resources powered by cloud technology. With content created by a community of educators, who work side-by-side with subject-matter experts, Boundless provides ready-to-use online content, study materials, and assessment items to make teaching more efficient and learning more effective.
Bookboon.com
Bookboon.com was established in Denmark in 1988, under the name Ventus, and has always focused on publishing educational material for students and business professionals.
College Open Text Books
The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks.
E-Books Directory is a daily growing list of freely downloadable electronic books, documents and lecture notes found all over the internet. This site has 9563 free e-books in 669 categories.
FreeBooks4Doctors
FreeBooks4Doctors was created to promote the free availability of medical books on the Internet.
Free Engineering Books: Medical Physics
Free Engineering Books Contains links to various Online Engineering Text Books, online notes and reference materials on various engineering topics such as Computer, Electronics, Electrical, Mechanical, Chemical, Instrumentation and much more.
HathiTrust Digital Library: Physics
HathiTrust is a partnership of the leading research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
Motion Mountain: The free physics textbook
An entertaining and free e-book on physics – the science of motion.
OpenStax believes that everyone has something to learn, and everyone has something to teach. There are tens of thousands of learning objects, called pages, that are organized into thousands of textbook-style books in a host of disciplines, all easily accessible online and downloadable to almost any device, anywhere, anytime.
Bentham Open publishes many peer-reviewed open access journals. These free-to-view online journals cover all major disciplines of science, technology, medicine and social sciences.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
The DOAJ was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
Elsevier (Physics and Astronomy Open Access)
For over 60 years Elsevier has been a leading publisher in the field of Chemistry, publishing highly respected chemistry journals, including prestigious society titles.
Frontiers is a community-rooted, open-access academic publisher. Frontiers is a community-rooted, open-access academic publisher.
Hindawi Publishing Corporation
Hindawi is a rapidly growing academic publisher with 414 peer-reviewed, Open Access journals covering a broad range of academic disciplines.
It is an Open Access publisher and international conference Organizer, which owns and operates 700 peer-reviewed Clinical, Medical, Life Sciences, and Engineering & Technology journals and hosts 3000 scholarly conferences per year.
Open Access Journals (Raman Research Institute Library)
List out some of open access journals in the area of Astronomy and Physics.
Scientific Research Publishing
It is an academic publisher of open access journals. It also publishes academic books and conference proceedings. SCIRP currently has more than 200 open access journals in the areas of science, technology, and medicine.
Usage Policy
-
Electronic resources such as e-journals, e-databases, e-books made available by the Central Library, NIT Rourkela are for academic use.
-
These resources can be searched, browsed and material may be downloaded and printed as single copies of articles as is done in the case of printed library material. Downloading or printing of a complete book or an entire issue or a volume of one or more journals (called systematic downloading) is strictly prohibited.
-
Use of robots, spiders or intelligent agents to access, search and systematically download from these resources is also prohibited.
-
Please be aware that systematic downloading will cause the publisher to block to the entire community of users @ NIT Rourkela from accessing these resources.
The INDEST-AICTE Consortium subscribes to thousands of electronic journals and bibliographic databases for use by authorized users in member institutions. The terms and conditions for using these resources are spelled out in electronic resource license agreements with each publisher. It is the responsibility of individual users to ensure that the use of electronic resources does not breach the terms and conditions specified in the license agreements. Licenses vary from publisher to publisher; however, the general principles are as follows:
Actions that are permitted
-
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving a copy of search results.
-
Viewing, downloading, copying, printing and saving individual articles.
-
Using these e-resources for scholarly, educational or scientific research, teaching, private study and clinical purpose.
-
Sending a copy of an article to another authorized user (i.e. current faculty, students or staff).
-
Posting the URL to the publisher's version of the article on a class website (publisher links will allow only authorized users access)
Actions that are not Permitted
-
Use of robots or intelligent agents to do systematic, bulk or automatic downloading is not permitted.
-
Systematic downloading or printing of entire journal issues or volumes, or large portions of other e-resources is not permitted.
-
Using e-resources for commercial gain is not permitted (i.e. reselling, redistributing or republishing licensed content).
-
Transmitting, disseminating or otherwise making online content available to unauthorized users (i.e. sending to mailing lists or electronic bulletin boards) is not permitted.
-
Posting the publisher's version or PDF of an article to an open class website is not permitted (instead, post the URL to the article which will allow only authorized users access).
